Stephen King & Spiderman

Stephen King Caricature by Steve Roberts
Stephen King Caricature by Steve Roberts

I’ve been reading Stephen King practically my whole life. One of the first was “It” when I was in high school in the 80s. That is probably now my least favorite of his books, not because it was badly written but almost the opposite, that is was so well written and so good at sucking you in that it’s creepy contents was just too much to handle.

I read most of the books that he had written up until I was about 25 or so (I’m in my early 40s now) but Bag of Bones really scared the bejesus out of me, and I guess I was entering a different phase of my life, so that horror was no longer my preferred genre.

Later I came back to him, finished The Dark Tower (which is not really horror, more fantasy), and I continue to read him now simply because he is such a phenomenal storyteller.  I am acclimated to and familiar with his writing style.

There is a quote I want to share with you if you are a Stephen King fan.

In an open letter in The Gunslinger Born, the first volume of the graphic novels based on The Dark Tower, he says:

“And if I could write any Marvel comic, about any character?  Spider-Man, of course.  Peter Parker, the original Sufferin’ Superhero.  I’m not sure what I’d do with him… except I see a nervous breakdown… and a tangle of OCD behavior that can’t be fixed with medication (screws up the powers, of course), and some tropical island rehab… an earthquake, of course… or maybe a volcano… a growing belief that if he doesn’t touch the door exactly twenty-three times before leaving his condo, the world will end… oh, and a sense that the costume is getting tighter… making it hard to breathe…”

This epitomizes why I love King and his writing.  As a person who has a psychology degree and loves the topic, I recognize his ability to communicate a personality disorder, it’s as if he has had every single one.

I am not currently a Spider-Man fan but if he writes this graphic novel I’m pretty sure I will be!

Leave a Reply

